Writing about elections without bias – and a thank you to Tounness

It has been a joy to write about the electoral process in Tunisia. Since June I have written over 30 stories about the process and the politics. I have especially enjoyed talking to Tunisians. Many have shared their thoughts and emotions with me in a way that many people from my own country would never do. It is heartwarming.

During these last few months, I have tried to maintain balance and not interject my own opinions. As we enter the final days of the campaign, I would like to reiterate the importance I put in staying out of the business of Tunisians. While I have been incredibly fortunate to be able to follow the politics, the elections are for and by Tunisians. Whatever your party, whatever your belief, this election is for you, the Tunisian people.

I remember casting my ballot for the first time. I did so at a local school in Minneapolis. I remember the strange sense of responsibility I had when I made my selection and cast my ballot. I am happy to witness this moment as an entire country has this opportunity to express itself.

I wish Tunisians the best of luck and thank you for your hospitality and openness. I hope to continue to learn from you in the months to come.

3 thoughts on “Writing about elections without bias – and a thank you to Tounness

  1. Pingback: What’s the real story about the Tunisian elections? Hint, it’s not all about Ennahdha « A 21st Century Social Contract

Leave a Reply

