Launching – A 21st Century Social Contract is Born

Today could not be a better day to launch my new blog, A 21st Century Social Contract – a Tunisian political blog, for we have just passed another milestone in the history of Tunisia, the trial and conviction of Ben Ali. The conviction of the deposed dictator and his wife Leila comes 6 months after the January 14 revolution, and 4 months before the election of the constitutional assembly, which will help determine Tunisia’s future form of government.

My blog focuses on the democratic challenges Tunisia faces from my perspective as an interested outsider, who happens to have been fortunate enough to be hosted by the Tunisian people during this historic time. You can read more about me here, more about my philosophy for A 21st Century Social Contract here, and of course, I invite you to follow me on Twitter or on Facebook.

In the coming months, I intend to write about the political process here in Tunisia, especially as it relates to democratic transformation, economic development, and the broader Middle East. Your suggestions and comments are welcome.

 

2 thoughts on “Launching – A 21st Century Social Contract is Born

  1. Eric,
    Thank you for your blog. I just discovered it yesterday and I enjoyed reading your posts. I am a Tunisian living in the U.S. for the past 30 years. The last time I was in Tunisia was two years ago and I plan to go soon. From what I have been reading on the internet recently, there seems to be some anti-American sentiments in Tunisia. There was a lot of skepticism about the reasons of Hillary Clinton’s and other American officials’ visits. Did people talk with you about that? And have you ever felt unsafe or threatened?

    Thank you,
    Faith

    • Thank you for your kind words. I think it’s safe to say that all voices have come out since the revolution a little bit stronger and with a little less restraint. The dictatorship put a muzzle on people here (foreigners and Tunisians alike), and since the fall I’ve heard a much broader range of opinions than ever before.

      This includes, to some extent, more generally anti-Western sentiments, including anti-American sentiments. These have mostly been around the presumed commercial and political interests that people assume the United States would like to have in the country. I have not personally heard overt anti-American comments that were directed at people rather than policies.

      All this to say, Tunisian hospitality continues to be amazingly strong and warm. I have never felt unsafe or threatened, though since the revolution I have been more conscious about my surroundings.

Leave a Reply

